Hot Topics in Migraine panels and Annual Migraine Awards Dinner

4th annual Migraine Awards Dinner

The Migraine Symposium – Community Program
Saturday, March 30, 2019 | 12:00 – 6:00 Pm
Salomon Center For Teaching At Brown University,
75 Waterman Street, Providence, RI


Tickets can be purchased here!

Join the Association of Migraine Disorders on March 30th to shine light on the third most prevalent disease in the world, migraine disease. This one-day event will begin with two simultaneous symposiums led more than 25 experts and advocates in migraine, covering various hot topics. The excitement continues with a networking and awards dinner following the migraine symposium.

The Migraine Symposium – Community Program
Saturday, March 30, 2019 | 12:00 – 6:00 pm

Salomon Center for Teaching at Brown University, 75 Waterman Street, Providence, RI

12:00 – 1:30 pm New Innovations in Care

Richard Kraig, MD – Co-founder/CSO of Seurat Therapeutics, Inc.
Novel nasal spray of Insulin-like Growth Factor 1

Blake Gurfein, PhD – Engineer, VP Research & Scientific Affairs, Tivic Health
Neuromodulation around the eye

Jason Cook, MD – Founder/CEO of Relaspen – ​intranasal device for SPG block

Shivang Joshi, MD​ ​- D​ ent Neurologic Institute – ​potential therapeutic targets

1:15 – 1:30 pm – Panel Discussion/ Q&A

1:40 – 4:20 pm Clinician’s and Patient’s Perspectives

CGRP blockers

Norman Gordon, MD – Chief of Neurology, Miriam Hospital Shoshana Lipson – ​CGRP & Migraine support group on Facebook


Ashley Hattle – author of ​Cluster Headaches: A Guide to Surviving One of the Most Painful Conditions Known to Man

Bob Wold – President of Cluster Busters, Inc.

Medical Marijuana

Todd Handel, MD – Interventional Physiatrist, Pain Management

Jodie Epstein – founder of

Acupuncture for Migraine

Mariah Stump, MD – Clinical Assistant Professor, Women’s Medicine Cooperative

OnabotulinumtoxinA for Chronic Migraine

Carolyn deBeauport, NP – Neurology Center of New England

4:00 – 4:20 pm – Panel Discussion/ Q&A

4:30 – 5:45 pm New Innovations in Research

Diane Lipscombe, PhD – Professor of Neurology, Carney Institute For Brain Science, Director

Christopher Gottschalk, MD – Director, Department of Neurology, Yale University

Yiheng Tu, PhD – Research Fellow, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts

General Hospital 5:25 – 5:45 pm Panel Discussion/ Q&A

Migraine Awards Dinner

Sayles Hall, Brown University, The College Green, accessed via archway at 75 Waterman St, Providence, RI

An evening to strengthen the migraine community and to honour some special people working to improve the lives of those living with migraine

6:00 pm Cocktails
7:00 pm Dinner

Innovation Award Winners:

From The Carney Institute for Brain Science:

Diane Lipscombe, PhD – Chris Moore, PhD – Carl Saab, PhD – Julie Kauer, PhD

Impact Award Winner:

Cathy Glaser, Migraine Research Foundation

Advocacy Award Winners:

Jodie Epstein – Danielle Fancher – Ashley S Hattle

Tickets: $10 symposium – $25 dinner
For more information and to register, visit
*Seating is limited and advanced registration is required

Categories: Event